• About
  • Press
  • Topics
  • Contact


CTU committees are a great way for any member in the city to involve themselves in initiating policy, celebrating our unity and serving other educators like you. You don’t need to be elected to serve on a committee, just fill out the application.

To apply to a committee, you can complete our Request for Committee Membership form completely online.

You can also download this form and email it to President Sharkey and Lupe Coyle, as well as the staff liaison for the committee (linked below).

Or send via US Postal Service to:
c/o Jesse Sharkey, President
Chicago Teachers Union
1901 W. Carroll Ave.
Chicago, Illinois 60612


*List subject to change

Bold = Standing Committees Plain Text = Ad Hoc or Sub Committees

Committees Liaisons Chairpersons
CW Special Ed Itinerant Teachers Adriana Cervantes Christa Lohman
Climate Justice Chris Baehrend Nicholas Limbeck
Clinicians Jim Cavallero Mary Difino
Counselors Gervaise Clay Lissette Flores and Venisa Beasley-Green
Displaced and Substitute Teachers Jim Staros and Georgia Waller Burma Green
Education Kathy Murray Kirstin Roberts
Bilingual Education Rebecca Martinez Linda Perales
Early Childhood Lynn Cherkasky-Davis Kirstin Roberts and Caprice Phillips-Mitchell
Elementary Steering Jed Schenkier Tina Franklin-Bertrand
High School Steering Michael Smith Mueze Bawany
Special Education Lisa Pattara-McGrane Natasha Carlsen and Katherine Osgood
The Arts Jen Johnson Gina Szulkowski
Housing Jhoanna Maldonado and Sarah Rothschild Mueze Bawany
Human Rights Richard Berg Denita Armstrong-Shaffer
LGBTQIA+ Latoyia Kimbrough Noa Padowitz and Joseph Dunlap
Legislative Kurt Hilgendorf Leonor Torres
Librarians Carol Caref Nora Wiltse
Membership Maria Moreno Maria Teresa Cosme
New Organizing (CTU –ACTS) Casey Sweeney Jennifer Conant
PAVE John Kugler Evan Maniates
Pension-Insurance Lashawn Wallace Jack Silver
Policies Stacy Davis Gates Stacy Davis Gates
Political Action Brandon Johnson and Martin Ritter Leonor Torres
Professional Problems Jennifer Johnson Jackson Potter
PSRPs Michael Smith Marilyn Piggee Williams
Public Relations & Communications Nathan Goldbaum Andrea Parker
Retired Members Tennille Evans Stephanie Collins
Rules-Elections Maria Moreno Susan Sebesta
Scholarship Walter Taylor Francine Greenberg-Reizen
School Finance and Taxation Pavlyn Jankov and Sarah Rothschild Jessica Suarez-Nieto
School Safety and Security Curtis Bynum Larnce White
Social Ronnie Reese Lisa Catledge
Sports and Extracurricular Kevin Hough and Martin Ritter Wendy Weingarten
Testing Carol Caref Aaron Bingea
Women’s Rights Terry Rudd Jacquelyn Ward

Join a Committee

CTU committees are a great way for any member to make a difference. Join one now!

Learn More