A message from CTU’s Political Director Kurt Hilgendorf

City government looks really different today than it did yesterday — and not just because our union brother Brandon Johnson is now mayor.

The Chicago City Council will also have a much different look after the conclusion of Tuesday’s run-off election. Nine new alders were elected Tuesday, and that’s on top of four new alders elected on February 28, bringing the total to 13 new members of the City Council.

Huge congratulations to four CTU-endorsed candidates who won seats on the City Council: former SEIU Healthcare staffer Desmon Yancy (5th Ward), longtime CTU ally and clergy member Rev. Will Hall (6th Ward), community organizer Ronnie Mosley (21st Ward), and community organizer and LSC member Angela Clay (46th Ward).

Three other new City Council members are notable in their victories. Current State Rep. Lamont Robinson won in the 4th Ward and will expand the Council’s LGBTQ+ caucus. Ruth Cruz overcame tens of thousands of dollars spent by the Illinois Network of Charter Schools to defeat her and won her race in the 30th Ward. And Leni Manaa-Hoppenworth doubled the size of the City Council’s Asian American Caucus by winning in the 48th Ward.

A special shout out to CTU members Lori Torres Whitt and Mueze Bawany for their tireless campaigns during the 2023 municipal election cycle. We advance our collective project for the schools and city our students deserve when CTU members put in the time and sweat to talk with voters, lay out a clear vision for a better tomorrow, and organize people to work toward that goal.

Finally, on behalf of the entire CTU, THANK YOU to every member who took a shift to knock doors, made phone calls, sent text messages, talked with your coworkers and neighbors, advocated with your family for a CTU-endorsed candidate in this election, and voted.

It’s through our collective action that we are able to move this city to create the schools and city our students deserve.

In solidarity,
Kurt Hilgendorf
CTU Political Director